QuickBooks Online – Overview
Updated: Feb 21st, 2020 | | Categories: Integrations
How It Works
Once you’ve enabled the QuickBooks Online integration, everything will automatically sync as you create/modify your data, in the background, and based on the information outlined below.
Historical Invoice Data:
When you enable the QuickBooks integration, it remembers that point in time and only syncs newly created invoices after that moment to ensure you don’t end up duplicating previous invoices in QuickBooks.
Your customer accounts will sync into QuickBooks anytime you create a new one, edit an existing one, or create/edit an invoice for their account.
Duplicate Customers Already in QuickBooks:
When you sync a customer account for the first time, we’ll check to see if that exact customer name matches any that already exist in your QuickBooks account (using the QuickBooks “Display name as” field). If it finds a match, it will leave all existing QuickBooks data except for overwriting the following data from SalesBinder into QuickBooks:
- Customer Account Name
- Primary Phone Number
- Fax Number
- Website Address
- Primary Email Address
- Billing Address
- Shipping Address
If the customer has already been synced, you can freely edit any of the fields above (including the Account Name) and they will be pushed into QuickBooks instantly.
SalesBinder does not sync your inventory list into QuickBooks. This is simply because QuickBooks doesn’t support all the inventory functionality that SalesBinder does and it would unnecessarily duplicate SalesBinder functionality. Instead, SalesBinder will send over invoice line-items as a generic “Inventory Item” with all the relevant details (custom fields, variations, etc) in the description field.
Deleting Synced Data:
Once an invoice is synced from SalesBinder into QuickBooks, if you delete that invoice, it will also be removed in QuickBooks. This works for invoices, however deleting synced customers in SalesBinder does not delete them in QuickBooks as QuickBooks doesn’t support deleting customers from an integration. Lastly, resetting an invoice in SalesBinder (which removes all payment history) will delete all synced payments towards that invoice in QuickBooks as well.
We’ve also connected our API into the integrations framework so all similar actions (outlined on this page) executed via our API will also have the same syncing affect. For example: saving a new customer or invoice using the API will also sync over to QuickBooks automatically.
For your own peace of mind we also include a nicely formatted log of all your recent integrations’ syncing statuses which you can review in the Settings area of your account. It will show if any actions are still queued to be synced, running, completed successfully, or failed. In the rare chance that the synchronization failed, it will likely include a reason so you can learn why it happened and optionally adjust your data and then retry it.
- Direction: One-way (from SalesBinder to QuickBooks)
- Purchase Orders
- Apply Payment
- Apply Refund
- Reset Invoice
- Cancel Invoice
- Purchase Order
- Mark as Received in Full
- Customer & Supplier